Hello world!

Welcome to my new blog.

At the moment I’m thinking about the technology. Reading W Brian Arthur’s ‘The Nature of Technology” has got me thinking about the essence of technology. I read Martin Heiddegger’s “the Question Concerning Technology” a few months ago and, to be quite honest, found to heavy going and pessimistic (not surprising, given the little I knew about him!).

Arthur makes a strong case of technology as an equal to science, in a symbiotic relationship. He also talks about different aspects of technology: devices, domains and principles.

 

References:

Arthur, W.B. (2009). The Nature of Technology. London: Penguin Books.

Heidegger, M. (1977). The Question Concerning Technology and Other Essays (Trans. W. Lovitt). London: Garland Publishing, Ltd.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *